Sunday, March 04, 2012

News: High on Fire "De Vermis Mysteriis" Tracklist + 1 New Song Stream

01. Serums of Liao
02. Bloody Knuckles
03. Fertile Green
04. Madness of an Architect
05. Interlude
06. Spiritual Rites
07. King of Days
08. De Vermis Mysteriis
09. Romulus and Remus
10. Warhorn

Stoner metal trio High on Fire are back with their sixth LP, De Vermis Mysteriis ("The Mysteries of the Worm"), out April 3 via eOne. It's againcore members vocalist/guitarist Matt Pike and drummer Des Kensel with bassist Jeff Matz, who became a full-time player on 2007's Death is the Communion. Instead of using a glossy knob-twiddler like they did a couple years ago on the Greg Fidelman-produced Snakes for the Divine, the Oakland band had Converge's Kurt Ballou handle the production, and the results are dirtier, looser, scrappier, warmer, more soulful, more immediately invigorating. It's also a concept album that, according to Pike, is framed by a couple questions: "I got this idea about Jesus Christ and the Immaculate Conception: What if Jesus had a twin who died at birth to give Jesus his life? And then what if the twin became a time traveler right then?" If you pay attention, you'll run into "an ancient Chinese alchemist who derived a serum out of the black lotus," references to Robert Bloch (and H.P. Lovecraft), and probably a bong hit or two. Here's part of the story, click here to listen to "Fertile Green".

Source: Pitchfork


0 Shouts:

Post a Comment